To use an immigration agent or not?

Guest JmK

Hello all,

My other half and i have been considering emigrating for some time and we are finally in, or at least very close to being in a position to make such a step. We are thinking of applying for an independent skilled visa 175. My occupation is currently listed on the SOL but have not found any sponsorship offers with companies in Oz and besides i'm unsure of whether i want a 'debt of service' hanging over me.

We are considering using a migration agent however after a few searches via google, have been put off of using a number of them and would be be rather grateful for advice or recommendations of what companies are good or to just bite the bullet, put in the leg work and go DIY???

I've searched the forum and haven't found any up to date info regarding this, so any info would be well received.

Thanks

I recommend at least getting an initial assessment done by a reputable migration agent -- usually this is free. Then you can decide whether or not you wish to continue on with an agent or do it yourself (you'll at least know what you'll need to do going forward if you decide on the latter). Go Matilda are fairly highly regarded on PIO. Good luck.

If you want to go for a 175 you need a migration agent ;) you can't apply for it after July the first.

Do aome research, if it is straightforward do it yourself. If in a lot of doubt, you have no time, no interest or dedication for it or tou are close to loss of points, a limit or the end of a migration year, I would use an agent.

why do you need sponsorship with 175 - i thought it was independent of sponsorship. You dont even need a job offer.

Maybe i am out of the loop?

No, you're right - you don't need sponsorship with a 175. In fact, the 175 doesn't exist anymore with the new SkillSelect system.

Without knowing your details, it's hard to say. If you have a straightforward situation then I would totally recommend you to do it yourselves and save the cash.