Absolutely Frustrated and dejected...

Hi all,

I'm based in Singapore and have received my 175 grant, trouble is I've have tried applying for jobs from seek.com.au , jobsearch.com.au , jobs.com.au etc etc, and even mailing and registering my interest by sending my CVs to all of the corporations I am planning to work, to the point of sending out almost 80-100 resumes and application everyday and by applying I mean I have applied from everything that is even remotely close to what I've doing, from the very junior entry level position to senior ones, but have always had rejections or no response...

I've even go my resume done up in the 'Aussie way' by hiring a consultant and since I've not made the move yet I am open to any and all parts of Australia...But right now I'm getting real depressed and starting to doubt myself, get frustrated and sad that things might not be as rosy as I thought after all....

I'm currently a Senior Manager for contract management, background in civil engineering and have been working for some 10 odd years now...

What is wrong ? Is the job market really quiet right now in the whole of the country?

Are you tailoring your CV to the specific roles you are applying for or just sending out the one the consultant wrote for you to everyone?

dont give up..... its not easy ! You would be very lucky to just fall into a job. If you can, it probably would be best to fly out there now and start looking. You can always do any job till you find what your looking for. My Dad went from being a senior manager at a large company in Johannesburg South Africa, to cleaning toilets at Tesco after working 9 hours in his full time job, when we first arrived ! He was doing 16 hours a DAY !!!!! Stay focused, if its what you want to do, work hard and make it happen.

You might find it easier to get a job with more face to face interactions. Perhaps the fact that your in Singapore, even with PR its a hassle they dont want.