Husband with criminal convictions, do we have a chance to migrate?

tracyscotland

Hi, I am married with 2 kids, 5 & 3 and hoping to get a 190 visa in the next year or so. I am a nurse in Scotland and am just starting the process of sorting paperwork etc for my skills assessment. My family will be coming on my visa.

I was reading various posts here and immi gov site and it has got me wondering.

1) Do we all have to pass medicals or just me/ the adults

2) Do both of us have criminal record checks or just the main applicant.

I had a IN10 (driving with no insurance) in 1996, does this count on my application?

My husband got an enhanced disclosure done a couple of years ago for driving busses and I discovered he has a list of juvie charges, theft, assault etc. He was in prison a couple of times...a couple of months each.

This was up till approx 18 years when he stopped being an arse, I met him when he was 21 and knew he had been an idiot but only recently knew the extent. We are both 36, so he has been a good boy for 18 years. I am now unsure what to do about my visa.

Guest The Ropey HOFF

He should be ok it has been mentioned on PIO many times that the cut off point is normally 1 year in prison, but this next bit is vitally important ..... tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth when applying for your visa, or they will find you out.

Best if luck.

Guest AKA63029

Hi Tracy.

'Normally' any time spent in prison for a 'continuous' period of 12 months will then impact on any application.

However time spent in prison if as you say a few months at a time then this should be no problem.

I'm not that genned up on some other stuff, but yes, you both need medicals done, and I doubt very much if driving without insurance would count.

To allay any fears I am fairly sure that only periods in custody 12 months or more will have a negative (possible) result in your application.

Cheers Tony.