Cost of the pill?

Mizzmp

Hi peeps,

Be landing around May this year (horah) in Perth. i take the pill and my chemist (who is from sydney funnily enough) said my pills available but I will have to pay for it.

Any idea whether I get it over the counter or whether I have to get a script? Also, any ideas on cost?

Thanks.

Yeah I'm also interested in this. My UK GP can give me a prescription for a year to take to Oz with me but it doesn't really last a year as it's 12 4 week packs (assuming a weeks break is always taken) which will only last a maximum of 48 weeks so I'm wondering what I'll be able to do if/when I run out and I'm still in Oz?

I think it depends on the brand name, I've heard they are different prices - I'd be interested if anyone is on Microgynon over there (or its Ozzie equivalent if you can't get that one).

I managed to score a year's worth from the GP here (she always gives me 12 months at a time coz I'm a teacher can find it impossible to try and get appointments with the silly system now), and was going to go back and say I'd lost it in the packing up, but might be TTGP when it runs out, so didn't seem like a lot of point.

microgynon I think is the standard pill they tend to start most people on in the UK, so I would assume they have the same here, relatively cheaply. You will need to go to a GP for a script, they usually issue a three month script with three repeats (i.e. you get 4 lots of three months).

Yasmin is more expensive, around the $70 for three months.

I take Microgynon but get the generic version here which is called Levlen. You get a script for 4 months which has 2 repeats attached - effectively you're covered for a year. Each script costs around $22 depending on where you go. I get my scripts from a nurse practitioner within a local pharmacy which is much easier than going to a doctor - in fact, I think Medicare covered it without me having to pay anything for the appointment.