Where in Tas would you go if you were starting again?

Guest Taytoconnorrs

Guest Taytoconnorrs

Hi all

Unfortunately I have just separated from my wife and I'm feeling pretty Cr*p. When we got together she said she would live in a tent with me no matter where it was. After 4 years this has changed I'm told and she no longer wants to have kids either. I got my residency out of it but its little consolation to me to be honest. I'm fed up with Sydney and fancy a sea change but my wife would not even discuss this which ultimately led to our break-up amongst other things (long story). I've been in Sydney for two years.

Ive always wanted to live in Tassie even before I visited there. We went a few weeks ago and It confirmed everything I suspected - it really is a special place. Anyway, I'm going to buy a car in the next 3 months, pack up my stuff and jump on the ferry to Tassie. But where do I go?

As an overview, I'm 39, healthy and a Graphic Designer by trade but I'm open to any kind of work.

The Huon Valley looks interesting, as does Cygnet or maybe launy but I'm still looking.

I have some savings that could get me by a month or two until I found me feet.

Siam Susie (hi) was always helpful in the past when I had questions about Tassie but I'd be really delighted to hear everyone's views. The whole prospect is scary and exciting but it feels right.

Do you think I'm mad?

Guest siamsusie
Hi all

Unfortunately I have just separated from my wife and I'm feeling pretty Cr*p. When we got together she said she would live in a tent with me no matter where it was. After 4 years this has changed I'm told and she no longer wants to have kids either. I got my residency out of it but its little consolation to me to be honest. I'm fed up with Sydney and fancy a sea change but my wife would not even discuss this which ultimately led to our break-up amongst other things (long story). I've been in Sydney for two years.