Hi Folks

I've been offered a Child Protection job with DHS in Melbourne and am due over in October of this year, I have a Bsc Hons in Social Work, 4 years unqualified experience and 2 years PQ in CP.

I'm really looking forward to the whole experience and am keen to hear what other people's experiences have been.

I'd like to get a balanced and realistic view so would appreciate hearing the positives and negatives.

Thanks

Drew

Guest The Pom Queen

Hi Drew

Welcome to PIO and congratulations on the job, how wonderful to have something already lined up.

Are you getting excited or a little bit nervous?

Kate

We are short of Child Protection workers, and it is hard hard work, but I hope you enjoy the experience. Some ex pat Brits who were doing CP in Gippsland found it too hard going, but certainly I don't want to put you off, I am sure you are up to it. I work in community welfare, it's pretty busy and can get a bit bureaucratic and busy sometimes.

Good luck with it, welcome, sure you will find your feet.

m2m - thank you for the welcome, yeah it feels good to know that I have work lined up straight away my partner is a metal machinist so I'm hoping that he will find a job easily enough when we get out there, I've checked out the jobs for him and there seem to be a few about! I don't really feel anything at the minute other than things pleased that things seem to be going in the right direction, I guess I'll start to feel more excited as the time gets nearer!

Olly - thanks for your reply, I think it's pretty hard work over here too I guess I'm just trying to get a handle how how different, if any, it's going to be to what I'm used to if that makes sense. What kind of community work do you do? On a totally separate note is that a GSD in your picture?