Do we give up the dream

Saz

Hey everyone & sorry in advance for the long post.

There are 4 of us, me Sara 43, OH Paul 50, daughter Lucy just 19 & son Adam 16. We have been wanting to make the move for many years now. We originally applied when the children were younger on a skilled visa as my OH is a brickie by trade. We missed out by 5 points & decided maybe it wasn't meant to be!!

However I think it has always been at the back of our minds & when my OH was made redundant in 2009 we decided to use the money & go out to Oz & see if Paul could find sponsored work. I have a lot of family in WA so there was no problem with having to sort accommodation. We had a wonderful 6 months & Paul managed to find a fellow pom who was willing to sponsor him. However in June 10 Paul's father was taken seriously ill & we had to return to the UK. He passed away 3 weeks after our return & Paul is still trying to sort things out!!!!!!!!!! As you can imagine due to the time it has taken the sponsorship is no longer available as he was looking for some-one to start ASAP. :arghh:

Since returning I have been unable to find work & our daughter has had the same problem. This has been extremely difficult & we still hanker after a return to Oz. I have been checking the job situation in Oz & applied for a position for my OH which comes with sponsorship, & it is looking promising.

Our dilemma is our son went back to school & is studying for his GCSE's. He has caught up on all the coursework he missed while we were in Oz & got brilliant mock results in December. He has decided that he would like to stay in the UK & go to sixth form & continue his education. To top this our daughter has recently got herself a serious boyfriend & her best friend from Oz has just come to the Uk to live with some-one she met. Our daughter has also now said she doesn't want to return to Oz. :confused: