Launceston - Occupational Therapist working in a community mental health team

malaya

Hello.

I am an occupational therapist working in mental health in the UK. I have been lucky enough to obtain a job working in the community in Launceston. We are in the process of tying up things here in the Uk in preparation for the big move.

I know it is subjective, but can anyone give me a their view on any of the following:

Living in or near Launceston (good/not so good areas to live). We currently live in a 200 year old property in a small village, 10 mins from a larger town and 45 mins from a city.

Also does anyone have any views on working in mental health or working as an OT in Launceston or Tasmania?

I have visited Tassie in 2010 for a week and loved it. We spent an afternoon in Launceston and stayed few days at Beauty Point.

Thanks everyone :wink:

Guest siamsusie

Hi Malaya,

I live about 2 mins from Beauty point on the River Tamar at Yorktown... yes its a stunning area with Greensbeach and Narawanapu National park across the road. We are 40k from Launceston which isnt much, but I feel probably too far for you on a daily basis.. having either the East or West Tamar to travel into Launceston from.

I work in the medical field but overseas on FIFO so I cant be that much help to you I am afraid.

Where we are living, it is virtually crime free and we leave the house/car doors open etc... must admit it took me a while to get used to this!

If you were looking at older style properties with character, I might be considering Evansdale which is a National Trust Georgian village 20k out of Launceston (airport side)... it is a gorgeous cosy village with lovely pubs, cafes etc but of course property is slightly more expensive, but the roads into Launceston are good.

http://www.domain.com.au/Property/For-Sale/House/TAS/Evandale/?adid=2008798913

History of Evandale in Tasmania, Australia | Evandale, Tasmania