Best place to live when looking for work in Sydney

dave1814

Hi guys,

Just after some ideas really...

Myself and my girlfriend (both mid-20's) are looking to move out to Sydney on 1 year working visa's around March next year. I would like to know where people would suggest living for a couple of months whilst we look for work, go for interviews, meet new people etc. I am an IT professional so im not sure if there are any 'better' areas to be in for my line of work?

I presume a flat in the city centre would be best? or not?

Looking at maybe a flat share, budgeting about $1000 per month for rent between us?

Any ideas/suggestions very welcome!

thanks,

Dave

Hi Dave :)

People will respond to your post fairly soon, so in the meantime, I'll just note a few details you could provide them in order they can best advise you, eh ?

* What sort of work will you and your partner be seeking, first off ?

* The sort of employment you'll be seeking will very probably dictate where you'll need to live

* The area in which you live will more or less dictate the sort of rents you'll be paying

Sydney has 4.something million inhabitants and growing every day

People come to Sydney from all over Australia, looking for work and a bit more 'life' in their life

People come to Sydney from all over the world, too, on daily basis

So it's crowded, because the State government can't keep infracstructure up to the level of growth

Public transport is very crowded in peak hours which usually means working-hours

Private transport is not cheap. And you'll need to have somewhere to park or you'll be paying a substantial amount of your income on daily parking fees

Rents are not cheap, naturally, because of all the people arriving in Sydney and needing somewhere to live

Rents are cheaper in Sydney's south-west and outer-west. These happen to be the regions most plagued by crimes of all types