can we get by on a 50k wage ???

graeme78

Ok guys ... the situation is this ...... wife and I giving some serious thought to life in Australia, we're both in our early 30's and have 3 kids, 2 girls, 12 and 3 and a new born baby boy.

My wife was a legal secretary until our son was born but is now a full time housewife and will be until kids are at school.

I work as a hyd hose tech for Pirtek and I'm also a qualified truck mechanic

Areas we been looking at are Brisbane, Mackay, Sydney and Perth,

All look like lovley places and there seems to be plenty of work for me paying around $50000 to $60000 per year ( unless i go to the mines then it's alot more)

Not having a true idea of living costs over there I am wondering if this is going to be enough for us not just to live on but save a little for the future or buy our own home.

Thanks, Graeme

When you consider that the national average wage is around $60k I think you will be doing it tough. You will probably make ends meet but it wont be easy and getting your foot on the property ladder could take some doing. Sydney would be impossible because it is a very expensive place and if you could get somewhere to live that didnt cost an arm and a leg you would be paying in transport to make up for it. You may score a job with penalty rates and overtime to make it a better deal but you will be working harder and longer for your money.

If you are going to make it on that amount then your best bet would be a smaller country town but, then again, jobs are harder to come by. The mines are no longer the sinecure they once were either apparently.

You will be entitled to some centrelink support - family tax benefits for example - but you would probably have to do what most Aussie families do these days in order to get the home and mortgage, and that is to be a two income family.

Guest guest17301