Will Constant Follow Up Affect Visa Outcome?

imaxx

I'd like to get your input on this. I had been waiting for 22 months now to be exact for my 175 (CSL) visa application to be processed. My agent and I had a heart to heart talk and I poured out my frustration for her seemingly indifferent style of handling the application. Since the changes in the immigration process beginning 2009, she doesnt update me on the steps she takes. In fact, in Feb 09 she never mentioned about advising DIAC that my papers should be marked CSL (i am an accountant). I initiated the PLE using her email address. It was often like that and she would deny receiving replies to the PLE, except for about 2 times which she forwarded to me. There were times she would say she launched PLE but no reply and I doubt if it can really happen that PLE goes unanswered.

In our talk, she was saying that she doesnt want to make follow ups because it might affect the visa outcome. Is this really possible? I have read of situations when applications were overlooked and a follow up put them in the queue again. Agent said our contract says that her commitment is to get me a visa the most possible way available, and not the fastest way in a particular time table. I understand that the delays were due to recession and the changes in rules. What I am asking for her is to check the status at least for us to know if I am undergoing security checking (I am from HR country) that has been causing the dealy, so that I can peacefully wait.

Questions:

1. Will constant follow up affect negatively the visa outcome?

2. Being in CSL, how long should be the waiting period since I had been on queue since Dec. 07, before I should be alarmed that nothing is happening to my application?

3. Can visas be made to sit to 2 to say 5 years until the officer "feels" like acting on it, even if it is a priority class?