yet another bad day at work (nursing)

gareth and lisa

I have just finished yet another horresndus shift at work (im a nurse) 10 acutely ill patients, me and 1 hcws no support from others, 2 patients on 15min mews. is nursing like this is WA??? what is the patient staff ratio, do you have more good days than bad??? i seem to have all bad?? no staff (but then again i do work in the hospital from hell, news of the world reporting not my words). will it get better in WA of should i just change jobs..:wacko:

Lisa

Guest guest17301

Hi Lisa...I've just had a busy one. Me to look after 4 pts, all acutely sick, ratio in my unit is 1:3 but 1:6 on the general wards. Rushed off my feet but a supportive (in general) environment. I think the general concensus is that the standards/ratios are better here. I can remember my days as a Staff Nurse on a busy surgical ward in England-horrendous! So I left the NHS to work for a charity. Good luck to you in WA, it is better IMO.

Guest ashmalog

can't tell you what it will be like in WA but i know ive had a hell day too - swine flu hysteria!!! i am a practice nurse and all hell has broken loose.

hoping someone answers your question - i am going to victoria and i have heard that there is a more relaxed environment and the pt ratio seems to be better (friends opinion).

Guest JoanneHattersley

I am an elderly care nurse. On the AM shift (as well as my PCs) I have 1 RN adn 1 EEn adn me. I am responsible for 52 residents.

PM: I have 2 EENs (and PCs) and I am responsible for overseeing 102.

Currently it is 1715 and I should have gone home at 1445. I am on a double shift due to a no-show! I now get to go home (if everything is done!) at 20.30! Thats from 6am!

PS: Ali, I get u r laughing at this!!!! After what I had on FB page last night!!!

I am an elderly care nurse. On the AM shift (as well as my PCs) I have 1 RN adn 1 EEn adn me. I am responsible for 52 residents.

PM: I have 2 EENs (and PCs) and I am responsible for overseeing 102.