Long Time Gone

Guest pegasus 90

Guest pegasus 90

I'm new to PIO & have been reading the threads for a few days to get a feel for it. My OH has got me onto this as I grapple with her desire to move back to U.K.

I wanted to hear from people who have returned (or planning to) return after a fair few yrs. We have been here for 9 yrs & from most of the posts I hve read, it is mainly migrants of 2 yrs & under who seem to be going back.

OH has been talking about going back for a few years now but basically it's been on the back burner so to speak. I agree with some of the sentiments but am struggling with the concept of moving back to U.K

I agree that we love to travel but the distances & costs prohibit us from doing a lot of things, & also I have to admit Oz is very light in the culture dept!.

One of our other concerns is that we have two kids (13 & 9) and from what we have seen & experienced we have not been impressed with the education system here in W.A. Please don't think I am into Oz bashing, I try hard to make my kids aware & proud of where they come from, but my daughter is 13 yrs old & has never had a Geography lesson!!!

Luckily we are in a different position to a lot of the new migrants, I have made a good career (after paying my dues!) & we are financially comfortable.

I haven't been homesick for many years now, but I am sometimes envious of the amount of opportunities & things to do in U.K. Nevertheless I am battling with the reality of what we would be giving up.

If anyone is in similar position I'd love to hear from you.

BTW I really feel sorry for the new migrants who've come over in the last few years, especially those struggling for work. There wasn't a lot work around when I came over in 2000, but a 4 bed house was $160k & cost of living was much,much cheaper.

I found things alot easier once I'd got my first Aussie job, then doors seemed to open.

Not much consolation I know