If Occupation is on SOL but not in demand can I apply for visa???

cobbler

I am at a total misunderstanding of what the situation is with visa applications, My occupation is worth 60 points on SOL but not in demand list (shoemaker/repairer) 19 years experience I'm 39 yrs old, on the job trained. My wife is 34 and her occupation was a Nursery Nurse with NVQ3 Qualification until we had our 1st child in May 2000. Since then she has done voluntary work (Mothers & Toddlers and Helping at the Nursery). Now She has started a course with Home Start (Care in the Community) to Kick start her career. I am now starting to feel very dissapointed because which ever angle I try there doesn't seem to be a way into Australia. When I last spoke to an Agent he told me the only way in was if I had a Relative in oz that can sponsor me(which we don't) Is our dream really over? I still have a firm job offer pending the visa outcome but NO sponsor.

Please help

Guest Gollywobbler

Hi Cobbler

When I last spoke to an Agent he told me the only way in was if I had a Relative in oz that can sponsor me(which we don't) Is our dream really over?

Whether or not this claim is accurate depends on your Points total:

Skilled – Independent (Migrant) Visa (Subclass 175)

Your potential points total is 110 (115 at the outside depending on when you turn 40) made up as follows:

15 - Age (assumiing you have turned 40 by the time the visa application is submitted.)

25 - Proficient English (assuming you do well in the IELTS, which I think you would.)

60 - Nominated Occupation

15 - Specific work experience.

Total 110 or just possibly 115 but either way it is not enough for a subclass 175 visa.

OK - Plan B. As you have no rellies in Oz, Plan B is State Sponsorship, either for the sc 176 visa or for the sc 475 visa. For either of these visas the points total is 100 and the State contributes 10 points towards the total so you only need 90 points of your own.