Medicals and depressive illness

Guest Clairey b

Guest Clairey b

Hi everyone

We have had our medicals today, and i am really worrying about them.:unsure:

I suffered with quite significant depression about 2- 3 years ago now, and am really concerned that this will put a stop to our plans.

I am a nurse, and back at work and not receiving any treatment, but just don't know how much immigration may frown on this?

The doctor has asked that my psychiatrist write a report (which she had done, but obviously not enough info included!) which he will include in with the rest of my medical paperwork.

The doctor said apparently hubby and kids were graded 'A' for no medical problems, but i am a 'B', meaning either current or previous significant medical history!

I just feel gutted-i really don't know what we would do if immigration said no!!!

Anyway, will stop rambling now, and would be so very grateful if anyone could give me any thoughts they may have.

Thank you all so much,

Claire x

All the B means is that someone needs to look at it. My son and I were graded B's and our meds cleared and we're here in Oz. Your consultant, just needs to provide the extra information that's needed. Try not to worry (easier said than done I know), but it's not being treated differently than any other medical condition.

Ali

Hi All,

I'm new to this forum and already i'm finding it incredibly useful!! This post especially!

Me and my family have our medicals tomorrow and i'm really nervous! i'm not the best person when it comes to a needle and the doctor taking blood :unsure:

Reading everyones comments about the medicals has actually put my mind at ease...!

Thanks all!

Though it's been said by others I just wanted to add that I had depression and was having treatment 3 years before applying for our visa and here I am in Perth.