Thinking of making the move - visa, job, experience

jimmyn17

Apologies if thisbhas been heavily discussed elsewhere. I am currently exploring the possibiluty of a mkve to Australia and wanted to hear sime thoughts from those that have gone through the process. Ive got no fixed timelines currently so I guess I am at the very early stages and have done a bit of research.

Essentially I am curious to hear others stories who were in a similar position to myself.

I am 38 years old, UK national currently working for a major global university doing all things video - marketing, events, producing online learning programmes, resources for staff and students, live broadcasting etc. I have an Associate Fellowship in higher education and have a BA Hons in Video Production. I also have an MA and I am a fully qualified teacher with QTS and an additional qualification in adult teaching/learning. I have previously worked as a full time teacher for nearly 10 years and have line managed a faculty.

Ultimately, I am keen to continue working in the video sector ideally within education but I appreciate my role as a teacher is likely more appealing.

I guess I wanted to know from others experience, am I likely to be granted visa for work, what type of visa am I likely to be offered, how easy is it to find jobs in these sectors (higher education and/or teaching)...?

I am fairly flexible with regards to location but very interested to hear others thoughts/opinions at this stage.

Thanks everyone!

James

There is no such thing as a global university, there are many universities with a global recognition.

The thing you will quickly learn with Australian migration is that superlatives and grandiosity are irrelevant.

10 years experience at Harvard or Cambridge is worth as much as the same time at Hull University (no disrespect), it's your ability and quals that matter not how you can package it to sound good.