What's my chance? Should I proceed?

Billie Jean

Hi all,

I'm an offshore engineer and I score 90 points for a SC189, 95 for a SC190 and 105 for a SC491. What are my chances of getting an invite for a 189? what about the others?

An agent told me today that Australia has permanently terminated issuing skilled visas to offshore applicants and that my chances are slim. Is there any truth to this?

Also for my own benefit, which of the three visas types is the best?

Thanks

Edited by Billie Jean

An agent told me today that Australia has permanently terminated issuing skilled visas to offshore applicants and that my chances are slim. Is there any truth to this?

No.

It might pay you to consult one of the registered migration agents who posts on this forum for a detailed assessment of your case and advice about strategy.

• Like 1

I wouldn't go back to that agent because he doesn't know what he's talking about.  Use one of the agents (like wrussell) on these forums.

Australia hasn't permanently terminated issuing skilled visas to offshore applicants.  The quotas have been reduced and at the moment, only "priority occupations" (i.e. medical staff) are getting visas.  But that's only because of Covid.    Unemployment is soaring due to Covid restrictions and naturally, the government doesn't want to import more people if locals are unemployed - it's not a good look politically.  Once the dust has settled - though who knows when that might be - they'll start up again.

The problem for you is that even before Covid, you needed over 90 points to stand a chance of getting a 189 visa. With the quotas slashed, you might need 95 or 100 points when things start up again.  We just don't know. 

Which one is best?  The 189, obviously.  You are a permanent resident immediately and you are free to live and work anywhere in Australia from day one.