Emigrating today (!) question about $ to £ transfer

Red Rose

Hi all, 

I'm returning to the motherland after 7 years in Oz, flying today from Sydney. 

I have no knowledge at all of the best way of transferring AUD to GBP. 

I plan on transferring all my savings from my ANZ account to my mum's account (as I don't yet have a UK bank account).

I rang ANZ today to check their rates for transferring bank to bank and I would save about 1k using TransferWise. 

I have left it too late now to go into my ANZ branch to organise this as I fly this afternoon at 5pm. 

Will there be any issues transferring my AUD from the UK, using someone like TransferWise? 

Thanks!

11 minutes ago, Red Rose said:

Hi all, 

I'm returning to the motherland after 7 years in Oz, flying today from Sydney. 

I have no knowledge at all of the best way of transferring AUD to GBP. 

I plan on transferring all my savings from my ANZ account to my mum's account (as I don't yet have a UK bank account).

I rang ANZ today to check their rates for transferring bank to bank and I would save about 1k using TransferWise. 

I have left it too late now to go into my ANZ branch to organise this as I fly this afternoon at 5pm. 

Will there be any issues transferring my AUD from the UK, using someone like TransferWise? 

Thanks!

There should be no problem if you have internet banking. My NAB account sends a verification code to my mobile if I want to make a transfer, so if it's the same with ANZ make sure to keep the number up to date on your account. I've never used Transferwise personally, but my SO sent money to my UK account using them, and it seemed to arrive instantaneously.

2 minutes ago, Red Rose said:

Thanks both I’m just on my way to a branch by the airport to arrange for them to increase the limit as I want to transfer up to six figures and want to minimise costs by doing it in smaller multiple transfers 

Can't you just arrange the transfer there and then?