Electrician thinking of moving out there

Matt15

Hey. New on here so apologies in advance if I’m repeating anything. I’m a self employed electrician, have been for 5 years or so. Did my apprenticeship when I was 19 and been doing electrics since. Although I like to think I’m quite good on most things. I’ve got nvq 3 although this may mean nothing. I’m after some info on what training I would need to do to become an electrician over in oz. I have also thought about doing an air conditioning/refrigeration course which I thought would be of benefit also. Many thanks 

As Liam says, you'll need deep pockets.   To even apply to emigrate, you need a certain level of qualifications and experience.   However, that's just immigration's way of checking that you're a suitable candidate.  Once you get to Australia, you'll find you have to apply for your qualifications to be recognized all over again - and for most trades, that means working for a year at apprentice rates before you can get your licence.

So, when deciding whether you can afford to emigrate, you'll need to factor in six months to find a job, then twelve months working at apprentice rates, before you'll be able to set up in business again and start building a decent income.  Plus, of course, the costs of shipping your stuff, a holiday flat for four to six weeks while you find a place to live, new furniture etc, car (they're more expensive here), etc.

6 hours ago, Matt15 said:

What would an apprentice rate be roughly if know. Also if I was to start completely from scratch what trade would you suggest or is an electrician as good as any