Salary negotiations - moving to Sydney, got approved for a transfer through work

Leedargh

hi guys,

I am Aussie, having lived in London for 15 years. My family and I are moving back in January and my work have agreed to transfer my job to Sydney (so thankful).

My boss would like to me to figure out what kind of salary I would get there, as they dont want to do a straight conversion, but take into account the loss of various benefits here + the cost of living in Sydney. A lot to think about!
Currently my salary is £63k. It includes 25 days annual leave and medical and insurance benefits. I work as a UAT analyst for an investment manager in London.

The Australia firm will only give 20 days annual leave plus I wont get the medical and insurance benefits.

So taking the salary conversion plus the 5 days of annual leave I will loose I estimate my salary to be $110k.

How do I account for cost of living in Sydney? I am at a bit of a loss. 

GBP63k > AUD110k.

Some companies use a conversion factor rate rather than a straight currency exchange rate. This accounts for cost of living differences. Obviously you are getting hammered due to a weak GBP. I would argue that coming from London, Sydney wouldnt be too different as regards cost of living.

But, to reach standard of living parity based on your UK wage, I would be looking at closer to AUD 125-130k + medical cover (although having said that, Medicare is pretty much free and very good).

A note about annual leave, yes you would get less leave in Au but pls check how the bank holidays stack up too. I have a feeling that you will be able to recuperate a couple of days as Au has more bank holidays thank the UK.