Need to move, can't earn the money here !!!!!

Stuju

Hi All,

We are seriously thinking off jacking it all in here (central coast) NSW as it is becoming to much off a struggle to survive.

Hubby has a mate here that has a mate who is currently working on the Brisbane Tunnel and earning a fortune each month.

Can any of you guys please let me know what the construction industry is like in Queensland and the mo and the forseeable future.

Hubby is a carpenter by trade but is currently in charge of a company that deals with frameless glass - i.e. balustrading,showers,splashbacks etc etc.

Any help would really be appreciated.

Many thanks

gizmo

Dunno about Brisbane but the construction industry down here is reported to be on the up with the government having plans for the construction of a gazillion homes to make up for the shortfall. From what the private contracting tradies charge us for small jobs I am surprised they arent rocking up to work in their Mercedes trucks (maybe they are only for best!)

There is generally quite a deal of employment down here - if you fancy being in retail for example, you cant walk through the mall without falling over a "staff wanted" poster in the window.

Just a thought - you could do worse!

Guest kenpom

Hi Gizmo

Thats not good news. If it isnt too cheeky could you possibly let us know what hubby is earning.

Ken

Hi Gizmo