Skilled Migration Visa 189 - Apply while in Australia

joachim2

Hi

I'm just about ready to start my visa 189 application but have some questions that I hope someone could please give me some help with

I haven't started my application as yet but I'm wondering has anyone started their application whilst in Australia rather than at home in UK/Ireland? are there any disadvantages as to doing this in Australia?

I do not want to use an agent as I want to keep the costs as minimum as possible

I'm an Accountant (ACCA) and need to get my skills assessed as well as complete the IELTS test but I'm confused on whether to complete all this before or after I submit an expression of interest? I think I need to complete first but is this all I need to do before the EOI, then is it just a waiting game until I get invited?

How long does the process normally take?

I really appreciate any help at all on any of the above

Skills assessment and IELTS first (if you need the points) before EOI.

See my timeline below on how long things will take you approximately as a guide. You can do skills assessment in parallel with IELTS if you are in a hurry.

Make sure you fully understand skill assessment requirements and IELTS requirements from your awarding body and that your discipline is on the 2014 Revised SOL (released in July I think).

No major differences that I am aware of for onshore versus offshore apart from for onshore Form 80 must be completed and it is mandatory for onshore applications. For offshore applications it 'may be requested'. Others may put me right on that one. @Pumpkin is Straight to the point and will put me right! ;-)

Recommend you do as much as possible in UK. Australia is an expensive place to just wait around for a visa that you may or may not get granted. Nothing in life is certain until it's in your hand.

Good luck.