science teachers on supply...

apartyofseven

hello! Was wondering if anyone can help. We are applying to move on a sponsored 186 PR visa. its through my work as a nurse but the OH is a teacher and he will need to try and get some work too! He is secondary science with over 10 years experience in the UK.

Anyone have a recommendations for good supply agencies to contact in Sydney? Thinking he wont be able to work full time straight away as getting kids settled and everything.

thanks in advance

sarah

Hi Sarah

There are many teaching agencies in Sydney - Randstadt seems popular, but if you google, you will come up with quite a few more. As a Science teacher I wouldn't think your husband would have much trouble getting work as Science teachers in Oz seem to be a dying breed! Good Luck!

Hi Sarah

I am also a science teacher, but in Qld. I think NSW has a state senior examination system whereas in Qld we are still on the old system - writing and marking our own.

Try 'smart teachers'. They have quite a turnover for independent schools, also 'teachers on net'.

He will probably need to register with the state educational authority in order to work as a teacher.

Does he have another subject? In Oz they generally expect you to teach two subjects. Usually maths is coupled with science.

If he can take senior physics this will make him pretty popular. If I can help with anything just ask.

Millie

He will need to get his qualifications checked by the NSW teaching board.

They will want university transcripts showing 4 years university. For science that will be a degree plus a teaching qualification. Not GTP!

The teaching qualification must include at least 45 days supervised teaching placement. Even though it was over ten years ago, it must be produced.