189 visa

davidbeag

Hey all.

As this is my first post on this i will try and keep it as short as possible.

I am going to apply for the 189 visa

My name is Dave and i am based in Leeds but originally from Ireland. My wife and I are hoping to emigrate to Perth next year.My trade fibrous plasterer (dry liner/ceiling fixer in UK) is on the list and i have done some of the online points calculators and am hitting 65 without doing my English test.

I am hitting high points as i have a Bachelors Degree in an unrelated subject (business management). Not sure if this will be good or bad for my application?

My wife is a primary school teacher which is not on the list.

I still have to undertake my AQF 3 and sit my English test.

Any advice regarding 189 visa will be appreciated.

Cheers

Dave

Shame on you Rupert, you've shattered all of my illusions of your knowledge wealth!! Lol!!

AQF is the Australian Qualification Framework, it's a bit like our NVQ. Some of us take these as TRA for one will recognise them as a trade qualification with no requirement for post qualification experience if you gain your AQF mainly through RPL (recognised prior learning). Taking mine was the difference between getting a positive skills assessment now or waiting three years for my NVQ to be accepted.

Sorry Rupert I should of explained that I got my high points on an online visa points calculator. I get high points as I have a bachelors degree.

cheers

dave

Sorry when I said where did you get the points from, I meant it might be worth providing the breakdown just so that someone can check it makes sense. As I mention it is unusual for anyone to get 65 points without anything for IELTS.

Closest I can get: 30 pts if you are between 25 and 32 yr old, 15 points degree, 15 points for 8 years work experience. Still only 60..?

Hey all.

As this is my first post on this i will try and keep it as short as possible.

I am going to apply for the 189 visa