Will 60 Points Be Enough for 189 Visa from July?

james007

Hi all...

I have received a positive skills assessment from the ACS. However, ACS have recently changed their regulations regarding assessment of work experience by including a ‘deeming’ date. In my case, based on the fact that I have a degree which is highly relevant to the nominated occupation the date at which I am deemed to be considered to work at an appropriate skilled level is June 2009 (Even though I graduated and started work in June 2007, if I had not had the related degree it would of been even more years)

My migration agent informed me of this new rule and this now means I can now only claim 3 years work experience for the purposes of the points testm instead of 5 years.

Based on this information I have following options:

1 - With a current points score of 60 points I can lodge an Expression of Interest and hope for an invitation to apply for a visa. During the months of February to June 2013 my agent said they were receiving invitations based on 60 points. However, the latest invitations have all been at a minimum of 65 points.

2 - Re-do my IELTS test to obtain a score of 8 in each section of the test. This will increase my points score to 70 points and ensure an invitation to lodge a visa application.

3 - Opt for state nomination. A successful state nomination will automatically result in an invitation to lodge a visa application. Currently the following states are sponsoring my occupation:

- Australian Capital Territory

- Northern Territory

- Victoria (Aalthough, I have been told though that Victoria are notorious for taking 12 weeks and still not approving the nomination)

My plan was to go out on 189 to Queensland as my friends lives there. So I am thinking of applying under option 1 and maybe rebook IELTS in case it doesnt go through on 60m points. Failing that I could change to 190 at a later date? I am going on own though so would like to be be near friends.