PR trying to move parents to Australia. Seeking advice.

Batbum89

Hi everyone.

I am coming up to my fifth year living in Adelaide. I came here when I was nineteen and am now 24.

I have recently gone home for a visit and as usual, the goodbyes are heartbreaking. I come from Northern Ireland, which currently has no opportunities for me right now, and as much as I would move back to be with my parents and family, I have come to love Australia and it is my home now.

My parents have mentioned that they would move to Australia, sell up and leave in a heartbeat.

I have tried to look at different visas but it is confusing and difficult to see what the appropriate measures to take are.

Could anyone give me some advice please?

I am a permanent resident and will be hopefully going through the process to become an Australian citizen within the next three months. I do have an agent through which I lodged my application to become a resident, but before I go to speak with him I would like to have a little bit of information and know my options.

Hi Batbum

If you go on the parents thread in migration issues, you will find masses of detail about getting your parents moved. There are two main choices if they want to go over permenantly - to pay or not to pay. If they pay they can be there in 1-2 years and it will cost aprox £70,000 for them both. If they dont pay, it will cost about £3000 and take 10 - 15 years.

They can also choose whether to apply from outside oz or to come to Australia (with no intention of staying) and then decide they would like to stay and apply from within oz while on a bridgeing visa. Still the same choices of waiting or paying. Best not to turn up at the airport with ten cases each for that one.

If you google 'parent visa australia' you will get the Aus. government site and you can find out all you ever wanted to know, AND download the relevent application forms, but basically for permenant residence the choices are - pay or wait.