189 - CO not happy with evidence for doctoral degree

Medicus

Hi guys,

I need your guidance. I applied for a 189 visa and claimed to have 75 points. 20 points were due to my doctoral degree from Germany. I'm working as a doctor and the Medical Board actually lists "doctor of medicine" as one of my qualifications. When I applied I sent my German certificate to DIAC.

My CO requested further evidence for the doctoral degree otherwise she wouldn't be satisfied. She suggested that my qualification might be more like a "bachelor degree"- I don't have a bachelor degree, my qualification is called "degree in medicine" and my higher qualification is the doctor in medicine which I did after finishing my medical degree.

I sent my Medical Board certificate to her today which lists "doctor of medicine" as my qualification but I'm not sure whether she accepts it.

If I had applied with a "bachelor degree" (which I considered to be fraught because my degree is not a bachelor degree) I would have had 70 points- so I would have still been invited with the first invitation round.

The question is if she refused to acknowledge my doctoral degree (bearing in my mind that the Medical Board accepts and lists it) would I need to reapply/ would my visa being rejected or what would realistically happen?

Would really appreciate some advice as I'm not far away from packing my bags and returning to Germany...

Cheers

​Medicus

Hello

Your medical degree is not a doctoral level degree it is a bachelor level degree as your CO has pointed out. If it was a doctoral degree it would say 'doctorate of ??' and not 'degree of ??'

You will have over claimed points on EOI because of this. I have recently read on here about others who have over claimed some have been told to withdraw their application while others have been given opportunity to try and make up their shortfall by getting partner assessment.

I'd contact your case officer and ask for best way to proceed.

Hi guys,