electronic visa? how do i prove?

kxyzle

hi i was told by my visa agent that my visa has now been granted but it is an electronic visa. He said that this will mean i can travel to australia and i dont have to attach anything to my passport. I just wanted to check that this was right as i dont want to get on a flight and be turned away by immigration for no evidence?

Also how could i prove that i am a permanent resident if this visa is electronic? just thinking about medicare etc where you have to prove this.

any help would be fantastic. Cheers

You should have an email that states all your personal details, the details of the visa you have been granted, dates valid etc. My one is a 2 page Pdf, which the immigration guidelines advise you keep a printed copy of with your passport when you travel as a precaution. But in general, there is no need to seek out a visa tag in your passport, unless you maybe come from or are going to a high risk country.

You should have an email that states all your personal details, the details of the visa you have been granted, dates valid etc. My one is a 2 page Pdf, which the immigration guidelines advise you keep a printed copy of with your passport when you travel as a precaution. But in general, there is no need to seek out a visa tag in your passport, unless you maybe come from or are going to a high risk country.

thanks for that ill have to have a look for it. im sure i seen it originally as it said visa entry dates (does that sound like it?) i was thinking more for signing up to medicare etc. My agent basically said you're in and left it at that. Didnt explain anything about getting there or if i have to check in with immi bureau or citizenship (i know thats a while off) thanks for the answer though

Yep, just take that same confirmation to medicare office, driving licence people, bank etc. You can also check on the immigration website, you just need a few things like your TRN, and passport number etc...