Advice Needed - Environmental Scientist Jobs

Ms Petite

Headin to Perth in Jan and have started doing a bit of research on the jobs market - contacting recruitment agencies. The general response is that because I don't have WA experience I will find it hard to get a job. I have 10 yrs experience in Local Government in Ireland in Landfills and env enforcement. How difficult is it to get in to the private industry?

Anybody any similar experience or any ideas

Thanks

G

I've read lots of posts on here which state that employers are reluctant to commit themselves to anyone not yet in the country. The recruitment process is costly and time consuming for the employer and the agency so you can understand them not wanting to put too much effort and resource into a person who may not actually turn up. (not referring specifically to you of course)

A lot of Aussie mines employ inexperienced people and train them up, so while there is a local manpower market to exploit, they will always do that rather than recruit a foreigner.

As you are skilled in your field, I'm willing to bet that once you are out there and have a Perth address, you will get a more positive response and there will be agents and employers wanting to bite your hand off!

Good luck, only 3 and a bit months to go!!!

Thanks for dat - I'm hoping ur right - A few recruitment companies have told me to contact them when I'm there - I suppose they are getting bombarded with overseas CV's everyday

I expect you are right, all you need to do is a Google search for "Aussie mining jobs" and they are all there for a global audience to see, they must get thousands every week!

• 8 months later...