Skills Assessment - Accountant

Morana

Hi,

My family and I are just starting the process of emigrating to Australia. I am a qualified CIMA accountant and i'm hoping there are people out there who are from a similar background going through the process or have been through it.

My questions centre around the skills assesment.

1. Who is it best to get your CIMA skills assessed through? CPA or ICAA

2. Is it worth getting your employment history assessed at the same time? And if you do this does that mean you can automatically become a member of the CPA/ICAA at the same time?

3. When applying for jobs in Australia as a management accountant will they expect you to be a member of CPA or ICAA or can you just remain a member of CIMA?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Hi Morana,

I too am a CIMA qualified accountant and have lodged my visa application so am happy to help you if needed.

In terms of which assessment body to use, I don't think it matters too much however, I went CPA due to the reciprocal agreement with CIMA so it seemed the natural fit and it's also cheaper and should be a quicker turnaround though I did find there timescales were a bit longer than the advertised ones.

If you want to become a CPA member, you should do this first as the skills assessment would then be free....but I decided against this option as I don't think it's worth it (you'd have to maintain 2 annual memberships at your own cost!)

You might as well ask for a work experience assessment at the same time as the skills assessment but it is based on their opinion only so not necessarily what will be decided by DIAC.

I can't comment on the employment question as I'm still in the UK, but from what I've read, I don't think there's too much difference to be honest especially with multinational companies.

Hope this helps.