Teacher registration

Guest hazel and dave

Guest hazel and dave

Hi,

We have just been granted our visa and all is feeling a bit topsy turvey at mo, nothing more so than the process of getting ajob when we finally arrive. :goofy:

We applied under Dave's trade - carpentry etc, but I am a secondary English and Media teacher and am hoping to get mysel registered etc before we go. Am really concerned about registration process etc and would be grateful for any tips or hints about the whole process. I did the traditional route of BA and then a PGCE - rather than a BED. Is this generally acceptable?? I have been a mentor for trainee teachers for 8 years and have a fair bit of experience, especially in challenging schools. Does this count or is it all tick boxes and letters after your name?

I have also read (somewhere??) that I need transcipts of my courses; is this degree and post grad, or just post grad? And what exactly is an acceptable transcript? I did a pilot scheme course - which has since been adopted with modification - and not sure a true outline of the course would exist!!

ANY advice would be greatly appreciated.

Get transcripts of absolutely everything just in case! When I registered, they needed to know exactly how many hours of underwater macrame I had had lectures in/taught (I did a PGCE too). My college, in those days, didnt record in that detail so I had to sign a stat dec stating what (to the best of my recollection) approximate times allocated to each subject. They generally like to have information that you have done a unit in behaviour management if you are heading for a job which is focussed on that area or a unit in special ed etc. However, in my experience, if you are game to put your hand up for special ed or challenging behaviour positions they really dont care in the end (we have had some poor gullible little souls who expressed an interest but no formal qualifications teaching our most vulnerable and challenging kids!!!)