Will the Olympic strengthen the Pound?

LilMe1

I've seen in a previous post that the Olympics may have a positive affect on the exchange rate. I'm currently aiming to go to Oz around that time and I will need some money for living expenses when I get there. However I'm now wondering whether to wait to see whether there actually is a favourable affect on the exchange rate. I'm no financial expert so I would be interested to know anyones thoughts? ...

I am no expert, but was chatting someone the other day whose opinion was that the olypmics are what done Greece over! As they ended up borrowing so much money to host it in 2004! Not wanting to put a damper on it, but maybe look into financial opinions online?

They're wrong, so don't worry about that

Greece has an endemic fiscal problem caused by a huge public sector, an issue with collecting tax, and extremely generous (well, until recently) retirement and pension terms of that huge public sector - lots of people routinely retiring with full pension at 50-55. A one-off capital spend for an Olympics is literally a drop in the ocean compared with that

I've seen in a previous post that the Olympics may have a positive affect on the exchange rate. I'm currently aiming to go to Oz around that time and I will need some money for living expenses when I get there. However I'm now wondering whether to wait to see whether there actually is a favourable affect on the exchange rate. I'm no financial expert so I would be interested to know anyones thoughts? ...