How did you do it?

tasormelb

Hi. We are a familiy of 4 moving to Victoria around July. Like a lot of people, because of the economy we are renting out our house and going with limited funds (Approx £32,000 which needs to pay for everything including flights, shipping dog and furniture etc).

Now I accept that one of us needs to be working within weeks of landing and hope the other can get something quickly as we don't have enough money to keep ourselves for months. I am a nurse, oh works in a warehouse and will take whatever job he can get initially. I will try and get job sorted from UK.

I have allowed for approx £3000 to pay for short term furnished accomodation when we land and hope to sort out rental in this period, but would like to find a cheaper way of doing this. Options I can think of are:

1. I come over before others, sort out job if haven't been able to do so in Uk, stay somewhere fairly cheap whilst arranging a rental that others can move straight into. Pros:- Will be the most peace I have had in 16yrs! Cons: Will miss the kids like mad.

2. Oh comes out way before us and tries to get job (could be wrong but I think it will take him longer than me). Pros will be certain before we follow we will both have job before I give up home and job here. Cons: don't think we can rely on him to get a rental we approve of - his main motivation will be how big the garage is!

Can you think of any other options? How did you coordinate the move across?

What options are there for cheapish places to stay in the Western suburbs for a single adult?

Thanks

Do you have a visa in place? Who is the main applicant? I ask because I don't think the partner/OH of the main applicant can go out before the main applicant.

I too would be interested in any advice others can give for your predicament. :)

Good luck with your plans tasormelb