Teachers' Pensions

Guest Francine

Guest Francine

I am hoping there are some teachers out there who might be able to help me. We have finally sold our house (hooray) and are planning the big move in the new year.

I have been teaching in the UK for 10 years and have paid into my pension during that time. What happens to that money when I leave the UK? Can I transfer it over to a teachers pension scheme in Oz? If so, how do I go about this? Any advice would be much appreciated x

You can either leave it in the TP scheme (probably not the best idea given the way things are going...), or you can transfer it over to your choice of Super fund in Australia. I'm not 100% sure exactly how to do it on your own, I would assume from my investigations you fill out the paperwork yourself (it looks pretty straightforward when I glanced through it, name & details, TP details, fund its going to details etc) once you've got a Superannuation fund set up in Oz and they transfer it over for you. However I haven't actually done it myself yet (hence not being 100%) (and as I only have a tiny amount in there, really pitiful as I didn't pay in for lots of reasons for quite a few years, I'm not sure exactly what we will do yet), I don't know if you actually can do it yourself, or if you have to use one of these transfer agencies or not, which obviously take a fee for doing it for you. If you contact TP (I would phone them, email enquires literally can take months for them to respond to) they can send the forms out to you, or they should be available on the website as well.