special needs education

tinkerbell13

Any advice, would be really grateful

We are just about to have our medicals and hopefully visit Oz next year to validate visa. Our 3 year old son is having speech therapy as his development is not where it should be for his age. we have gone private because NHS only want to "observe" his development and we felt this was not good enough. If he does not catch up by school age then we would look to place him in a school with a speech unit attached. I am concerned that if we uproot to Oz, I do not have the adequate knowledge to know whether the education system would support his development. I am a secondary school teacher so I know the system well here and know that in his early years his education would be good in the UK but when it comes to GCSE's I am not sure that this type of education would suit him, I am all in favour for the TAFE system which we do not have in this country.

Any help/advice would be good.

You would probably have to do the same in Oz if you wanted to get anywhere. There are lots of Speech Therapists around in NSW as it is very big over here. It would all depend on which state you were going to and the severity of his delay as to what you may get in terms of funding. Like the UK funding is difficult to get and each state has their own education department and rules. Also like the UK Speech Therapists are expensive and most charge between $65 - $85 per half hour in and around Sydney.

Quoll is probably a good person to ask as she has lots of knowledge about the education system here as well as SEN.

Don't want to pour cold water on your plans but I think the UK is much, much better than Australia for special needs pupils! I say this because I have a friend with a Downs syndrome child and she has had terrible battles to get assistance and funding. If the problem in minor you may be fine- but if it comes to needing teacher's aides etc well you might have a big fight on your hands.