British Mixed-raced Family - Hobart

KazzKing

Hi,

My family (OH & 2 girls - 4 & 11) are lucky enough to be moving to Tas next year (most likely Hobart).

I'm black british and OH is white - we're currently in Scotland where the girls have a large circle of friends and have never experience any racism is any form.

Does anyone know if they will be singled out and treated badly for being mixed-raced (from their peers)? I know pockets of racism are everywhere, but I don't want to take them to a country where they won't be happy.

I'm a professional black women, and I'm not worried about myself - I'd tell them where to go :biggrin:but they are only kids so I'm worried.

Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Thanks

K

Guest siamsusie

Welcome to Poms In Oz KazzKing,

We have quite a number of members now in Hobart (I am in northern Tasmania), and I am sure they will be along shortly to hopefully put your mind at rest.

Certainly up north we have a fair number of Black people and racially mixed, tbh I dont know whether there are issues are not, bearing in mind many are refugees unlike yourself lol.

Our hospitals are well staffed by people of different ethnicity and I have not heard any adverse reactions.

Skani and Crispy70 are two regular contributors from Hobart and I am sure as some time you will be hearing from them tomorrow.

Its a gorgeous island and I hope you will be happy here.

Susie x

Guest Guest31881

Hi,

No one will even give you a second glance in Australia, I have not been to Tasmania but where I live your children would not even warrant a second glance, they will accepted for what they are .... Children.... No one cares about stuff like that. You are coming to Australia, a real mix of all nations and nationalities.

Guest siamsusie

I should also say we have friends of all colours and creeds, I have one Asian son who is well regarded when he comes to Tasmania.. you will be fine x

Guest destinationoz

Hi KazzKing