Customs form query

motherof2

OH is currently completeing the form B534 and has got stuck on section 8 'soil or earth or goods containing soil or earth, rock or mineral samples'

I have a small collection of semi precious rocks such as amethyst, smokey and rose quartz, diopside etc. All brought from shops many years ago so have no receipts. We also have varnished leopard shell.

I do have a small piece of coral which was gievn to me as a child so I presume I can't take that.

Are these OK to bring?

I've been told you can't take shells - as for the others, check out the AQIS Icon database

http://www.aqis.gov.au/icon32/asp/ex_querycontent.asp

:)

Hi there just reading your post regarding shells , i am a BEAUTY THERAPIST here and i do a massage which involves recycled tiger clam shells do you think i will have a problem with taking these with me . I really hope not as it is such a lovely treatment and i would like to carry it on in oz . Itried to email the above link but just couldnt get through

many thanks

susan :wubclub:

It's a website, not an email :wink: If you google AQIS - Icon database it should come up.

But here goes I'll copy .....

Commodity: Sea shells (other than oyster shell) ex_clrpixel.gifex_clrpixel.gifScientific name:

ex_clrpixel.gifex_clrpixel.gifSynonyms: Show Synonyms ex_clrpixel.gifex_clrpixel.gif Clam shells, Cochlia, Conch shells, Cone shells, Giant clam shells, Giant conch shells, Hermit crab shells, Sea shells (other than oyster shell), Seashells, Tortoise shells, Turtle shells

ex_clrpixel.gifex_clrpixel.gifCountry: All countries ex_clrpixel.gifex_clrpixel.gifEnd use: All uses other than as animal foods, fertilisers or for growing purposes

Non-Commercial

1. An Import Permit is not required.

2. A Quarantine Entry is required for all consignments except those that are imported as non-commercial consignments by mail or those that are imported as personal consignments with passenger's accompanied baggage.