Bristish Gas Engineer needing advice

jodieredd

Hi all, I am a Britsh Gas engineer looking for some answers please.

All the information on various forums is confusing me. I am a fully trained gas service/repair engineer for BG and am hoping to move to Australia in the near future. My wife has an Australian passport so I would be entering on a spouses permit. The information I am getting is that my qualifications are not being recognised in Aus and I would have to sit various exams? Also hearing that the wages aren't very good.

Does anybody actually know for sure what the laws are in Victoria (where we are looking to move)? Can somebody perhaps give me contact details of associations that can give me the correct info and companies that employ people like myself?

Thanks in advance

Craig

progress.gif :arghh:

Guest siamsusie

All the information on various forums is confusing me. I am a fully trained gas service/repair engineer for BG and am hoping to move to Australia in the near future. My wife has an Australian passport so I would be entering on a spouses permit. The information I am getting is that my qualifications are not being recognised in Aus and I would have to sit various exams? Also hearing that the wages aren't very good.

Does anybody actually know for sure what the laws are in Victoria (where we are looking to move)? Can somebody perhaps give me contact details of associations that can give me the correct info and companies that employ people like myself?

Thanks in advance

Craig

Hi Craig and welcome to Poms In Oz.

I have had a search for you.. see this link http://www.pomsinoz.com/forum/jobs-careers/98848-gas-fitters.html.. it is probably more for fitters than engineering, but it might give you a few pointers.

http://www.seek.com.au/

http://mycareer.com.au/jobs/-/mining-oil-gas/oil-gas-engineering/

http://www.jobserve.com.au/South/Australia/Oil/and/Gas/Engineering/Jobs.htm

http://westjobs.com.au/JobSeeker/gorgon_oil_gas_mining.html