UK vs. Aus disposable income

dapstar970

Hi I'm new to PIO. I've recently been offered a job to re-locate to Sydney from Birmingham in UK. I will potentially be moving around 1st November along with my wife and 2 daughters (age 5 and 9 months).

I currently negotiating my salary with my employer. Is there anything I should watch out for? From all the very useful posts on PIO i have read that I should be looking for around double my annual salary in the UK, in order to live the same standard of living in Sydney??

However, my employer is working this out based on the amount of disposable income left as a %. Basically I have a disposable income of around 78% in the UK. My employer has offered me an annual salary in AUS with around 74 % disposable income. Based on the research i've done some things are more than double the price(some cheaper e.g. fuel). For example, rent in Sydney is 3 times as much as my current UK rent!??

Does it sound reasonable to calculate the AUS salary based on disposable icome percentages?? Can someone point me in the direction of a cost of living calculator website?

Any comments would be helpful.

Thanks,

Dan:biggrin:

Guest siamsusie

Welcome to Poms In Oz Dapstar,

I do hope you enjoy our forum and that you manage to get some answers to your queries.

Susie x

Guest webster

Ask your employer if you can arrange for salary sacrificing/salary packaging. This will enable you to sacrifice part of your gross salary for your rent (or whatever you choose), meaning you only pay tax on the salary thats left after the sacrifice. There is a fringe benefits tax that the employer is liable for but if its organised well, it can benefit both parties. A brief overview can be found on the australian tax office website, see http://www.ato.gov.au/content/00227771.htm

Goodluck!

Guest Guest 47403
I have no idea i just posted the link, i'm not in a position to validate it

Ok lol