degree or not a degree, that is the question?

kenny01

Hey guys, excellent forum! I have a question... I currently have a good qualification in diesel HGV fitting courtesy of the armed forces and me and the missus are wanting to move to oz! The dilemma is that im currently studying for a degree in mechanical engineering, quite early into it. I have read that a british degree is worth diddly squat over there so is there any point??? Am i wasting my time when i could be earning good money spannering?? Advice/opinions needed. Thanks guys and dolls :biggrin:

Guest Guest31881

Hi kenny,

I have moved your post to the migration forum, hopefully you will get a better response from this thread

Hey guys, excellent forum! I have a question... I currently have a good qualification in diesel HGV fitting courtesy of the armed forces and me and the missus are wanting to move to oz! The dilemma is that im currently studying for a degree in mechanical engineering, quite early into it. I have read that a british degree is worth diddly squat over there so is there any point??? Am i wasting my time when i could be earning good money spannering?? Advice/opinions needed. Thanks guys and dolls :biggrin:

who told you the british degree is worthless? According to my agent which is based in Sydney and the university of SA. My british degree is a very high standard, to the effect of being offered a place on PHD course.

if you are taking a non hons degree then its worthless. Hons degree are worth alot more

From what you're saying in your post, it sounds as though you're in the first year of a degree course. If you're studying full time then it'll be another two or three years to complete it.