skilled visa

firebladebally

Hi all, i am a motor mechanic on a working holiday visa in oz. I have just been looking on immi.gov.au and have noticed the points test has changed. WShen i left england i was on 120 points and now only 115 which is too low. I dont understand all this "pool" stuff, what it my best option, visa wise as i dont want to go back to england ? any help appreciated, cheers.:biggrin:

Forget about the 'pool'. If you can't make 120 points, you have no chance of getting an independent visa. Also, the points test changes again from 1 July 2011 and as a tradie, you'll probably find that one even more difficult to pass.

http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-skilled-migration/pdf/points-fact.pdf Proposed new points test - pass mark 65

In any case, even if you still scored the required points, you would only be eligible to apply for an offshore 175 visa and could only stay in Australia for the 2+ years it will take to be granted if you could find an employer willing to sponsor you for a 457 Temporary Business (Long Stay) visa. Without a 457, you would have to leave Australia and wait offshore for your 175.

Temporary Business (Long Stay) - Standard Business Sponsorship (Subclass 457)

It comes down to the fact that with or without 120 points (or 65 on the new test), as far as I can see, the only way you'll be able to stay on in Australia after your WHV is to find employer sponsorship.

If you work on a 457 for 2 years and your employer is then willing, they can sponsor you for a permanent 856 ENS visa.

Employer Nomination Scheme (Subclass 121/856)

If you can find an eligible and willing employer and can meet a number of other requirements (3 years experience, 3 year offer of employment, positive skills assessment and others), you would be able to go staight to an 856 without the interim 457 step.

http://www.immi.gov.au/allforms/booklets/1131.pdf Sponsored Migration booklet 5