What's the best Visa / Plan for us?

Goochie

My wife and I are looking to move to Oz in the next 18 months, however I'm not quite sure which Visa would be best for us?

I'm a degree qualified mechanical designer and my with is a veterinary receptionist. Therefore we'd be using my background as the basis for our visa application.

We've yet to decide on where we would like to live in Australia.

My employer in the UK has a sister company in Melbourne which could be a reasonably easy option, if they're interested in taking me on of course.

So, what are the options on Visas? Which do most people go with?

Am I right in saying that with some visas, you have to leave the country if you are made redundant of change employer in Oz?

I dont want to put everything into a life changing move, on the back of a job that may turn out to be unbearable after a few months.

As you can tell, we're in the early stages of all this, but as with anything I do, it'll be meticulously planned before anything happens LOL! Expect many more posts.

Guest scottech

I opted for visa subclass 175 (Skilled Independent). I can go anywhere, work as anything, totally unrestricted. I am a teacher, but if I can't get a job teaching right away it wont affect my visa. It might be for you.

My wife and I are looking to move to Oz in the next 18 months, however I'm not quite sure which Visa would be best for us?

I'm a degree qualified mechanical designer and my with is a veterinary receptionist. Therefore we'd be using my background as the basis for our visa application.

We've yet to decide on where we would like to live in Australia.

My employer in the UK has a sister company in Melbourne which could be a reasonably easy option, if they're interested in taking me on of course.

So, what are the options on Visas? Which do most people go with?

Am I right in saying that with some visas, you have to leave the country if you are made redundant of change employer in Oz?