Teacher training in Aus?

Guest Angelcake

Guest Angelcake

Hi

Im thinking of having a career change once we get to Australia and am interested in Primary school teaching.

I have a degree in Travel and Tourism and I know you can do post grad courses here with funding (PGCE). Just wondered if there was anything similar in Australia? We will be moving to somewhere around the Brisbane area.

Thanks for any help

Angelcake

Hi

I have just finished my teaching Masters Degree over here in Oz (YEAHY!!!! finished last week!!!). You need to have your first degree assessed by the relevant authorities over here first. They will tell you whether you need to do a 1 year diploma (or higher qualification of some sort) or whether you need other subjects as well. I chose my particular degree because it was all done by distance education. It was an 18 month course. I had to do 2 blocks of teaching practice - one of 4 weeks and one of 5 weeks. The rest I did completely from home - I was sent the relevant reading material and we had the use of an online forum to talk to other students. There were people on the course who had to do additional subjects though because their first degrees were not quite suitable.

You have to fund the study yourself. If you are on a temp visa I would say it would be outrageously expensive because you would be classed as an International Student. On a PR Visa you pay the local fees upfront but with no sort of discount, and you cannot defer payment.

Hope that helps

Daphne

Hi