Doctors' thread

Guest man2010

Guest man2010

I am new to PIO and i have found it helpful but i would like specific info for doctors,cos things work quite differently in oz. I am a GP,my husband a banker, 2 children a 7year old and 3 months old.I am applying for ENS 121 hoping to move to melbourne.

I will appreciate if doctors both in uk and oz can help (or from anywhere!)

• Replies 328
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest Gollywobbler

Hi man2010

Welcome to Poms in Oz.

You and Marzoom might be able to help one another:

http://www.pomsinoz.com/forum/members/marzoom.html

Marzoom is a 37 year old British lady who is also a full time GP. She plans to head for Adelaide, since she has family there.

I have not heard from Marzoom since before Christmas. The last I heard was that she was about to apply for her Australian Medical Council skills assessment:

Medical Practitioner - General Medical Practitioner 2311-11 - Australian Skills Recognition Information

Some GPs say that AMC assessments can take up to a year to be processed. However my impression is that whilst this may be true for doctors from some countries. I think the skills assessment is usually fairly quick for a doctor who has been trained in the UK.

Now then! I'm a UK-trained lawyer by background. Therefore you will not be surprised to learn that I go to my GP if I have a meds problem but beyond that I don't know a thing about medicine and I don't know anything about the training for doctors.

The snippets that I know about visa applications for doctors come from Madhu on British Expats to be honest:

Parent Visa Police checks & Medicals : British Expat Discussion Forum

Madhu is a British-trained GP, who is now a GP in Oz. About the visa process, Madhu dealt with the whole thing on her own but she says:

1. The AMC assessment is quite easy and quick if you have trained in the UK.