Perth or Melbourne?

gaunty

Hi All

Hoping we can get some advice. We were originally going for a Skilled Ind visa and going to Perth (1st choice with Victoria 2nd choice- I've got VETASSESS practical in June).

We are now thinking about State Spon. I'm a Plumber and have spent 2 months in WA but only a week in Melbourne 6 yrs ago so have no knowledge. However, we're now considering Victoria since they apparently process SS visas much quicker than WA and hoping to apply for our visa before 1st July. We've a young family (3yrs and 11 wks) and we're big on surfing and windsurfing and want to be out and about all year.

Any comments on the comparisions both good and bad between Perth and Meb suburbs close to the sea (not Port Phillip- flat water!?)?

Regards

Gaunty

If you want close to the Ocean Beaches you would need t move down to the southern end of the Mornington Peninsula and on the other side of Melbourne to Jan Juc, Torquay, Bells Beach. These areas are ok if you actually work in the area but if you have to commute then they are a long way out.

We love Melbourne but as Ali has said cannot really compare the two as both are completely different.

Melbourne has four million people so is a large sprawling area and we live over a hundred kilometres from the airport for example.

Itgs seventy kilometres by road to the city from where we live. 47 as the crow flies which estate agents say which bears no resemblance to the commute.

Its generally cooler in Melbourne than Perth, although we do get hot spells and they are very hot. I have family living in Perth who live around the Rockingham area and love it there.

Personally we lived where my oh got a very good well paying job and it was lucky for us it turned out to be Melbourne, however if it had been somewhere else I would have liked it as having enough cash makes the world go round even though some say its not about cash.

Hi Gaunty