WA construction blue card

davet19650

Hi folks in WA

Anybody out there in the construction business that can help me.

Visas granted looking to head out to perth asap next year,

Painter and decorator by trade, understand that i need a blue card to start work.

been looking online as to doing the test $90 with bluedog training, whats involved in the test as to health and safety questions compared to our cscs tests over here in the uk, do the questions differ a lot to here, is there any other websites that you can recomend to do the test or is it easier to do once arrived in oz

any info greatly appreciated

Cheers

Dave

Guest english reject

google it, I did mine last year ( $ 80 ) its all on line and you basically you keep taking the test untill you pass, I think the site was frontline.

ER

Guest burkecath

Hi what is this blue card? my OH is a bench joiner, does he need this before he can work? he did his Vetassess skills test/passed etc. visa granted we were assuming thats it? booked flight going Jan2010? will be looking for a job then, any tips?

A Blue card/White card is a health & safety card needed to work on building sites, don't quote me on this but painters in Perth need to be registered with the some kind of paint registration board if running as a business. And to the other poster who's husband is a joiner, I would imagine he would not need one if he works in a factory but if he then has to go on site to assemble anything like a kitchen etc. then he will require one so better just to get one all the same.

They cost around $60+ and can be done online or in a classroom takes around 4 hours. If you do the test online you will need an Aussie address for them to send you your new card...

• 2 weeks later...
Guest craigmin

Alright Dave,