Moving to Melbourne to study - help, advice or suggestions much appreciated!

Guest HanLou

Hello.

I am 27 years old, new to this forum and feeling a little confused!

My partner whom I've been in a relationship for a year and half is an Australian national and is very keen to head home to Australia (Melbourne) mid-2010.

I would love to join him, despite it inevitably being very hard to leave so many friends and family behind. I also have the minor issue of renting/selling my house!!

I didn't go to university and therefore the only qualifications I have are A levels. I currently work as a P.A. in the CIty (London) but I am desperate to leave the office environment with a view to finding a route that leads me to achieving my ambition of working with chidren.

WIth this in mind, along with the fact that my partner is so keen to head back to Australia I'm trying to piece together some sort of study plan in order to fulfil my dream of working with kids. I also feel that studying would be a perfect opportunity to meet new people and build some friendships in Melbourne because as things stand I will only have my partner and his family/friends around for moral support!

I've done a little research and am very interested in obtaining a Certifcate followed by Diploma/Advanced Diploma in Childrens Services - which could lead to various potential job opportunities (in an ideal world!).

In theory, if I could achieve all of the above I would be a very happy young lady however I know that I am going to meet many obstacles along the way which is why I'm posting on this forum to try and seek some advice from anyone who can help.

Questions I need to try and answer are:

Which visa I could apply for?

What to study and whether I meet the entry reuirements?

Am I being realistic in thinking that I could have a visa sorted by middle of next year?

Thanks to anyone who is able to offer any advice - it is much appreciated. :twitcy:

Hi there,