176 family sponsor change to state sponsor?

Hi everyone

Im pretty new to this, and never posted a thread before but i read threads everyday and love the site!

So now im just wondering if anyone can help me

We used a migration consultant to do our application and lodged our online 176 family sponsorship visa application on 16th Dec and we have recently done our medicals which have been finalised etc, we then obviously found out that they changed the ranking and that our application would be put to the bottom of the pile! and we havent had a case worker assigned or anything exciting so we are assuming the application is gonna take forever.

So my question is - what do we need to do to change to state sponsorship, is there a specific area we have to go to , how much does is cost etc and if anything is it likely to actually speed up our process?

We started our appliaction in Jan 2008 and we are now going insane, someone please help!

Claire and Liam

Hi Claire And Liam, Welcome to pio, Hope you enjoy the site!!

Maybe the best thing to do is ring your agent, Do you have a state in mind where you would be happy to settle, also check to see if that state is sponsoring your trade!

Im sure someone else will be along with more helpfull suggestions, Good luck x

Guest The "legdes"

Hi Claire/Liam

You sound in the same boat as us except we have been waiting since last July. We were relative sponsored, were on CSL then fell off so now are in the MODL pile which doesn't look like its going to get processed anytime soon - maybe not even this year (?)..... we are with an agent and he advised us to change to state sponsored if we wanted to climb to the top of the priority processing list again. In hind sight I just wish we'd gone ss in the first place - but hey.