Help with visa application

scarlet mia

Hi I hope this isn,t a silly question but I am a bit confussed. We are about to start our application for a skilled 175 visa, now I am just wondering as my husband has a British passport and we are British does he not have to sit the ielts test and should he allow himself 25 points for being English without the test? We have passed TRA and he does have enough points if I have the English part correct. I hope this makes sense and someone knows what I am trying to say LOL. Also is it only a copy of passport needed to send to prove Language.

Thanks so much for any advise

Hi there,

Unfortunately you do have to take IELTS to get the full points even if you are english speaking born & bred. Some people are outraged at this but I used to be a teacher and GCSE Examiner so I know how bad native speakers can be :) I've got to say the tests looked easy to me and you don't even have to get top marks so it shouldn't be too much of a problem. People do fail though - probably down to nerves more than anything else.

OH decided not to do it & we got the 'extra' points we needed by claiming skilled spouse points purely because we were in Australia a lot of the summer and he wasn't in the UK for the test dates.

Good luck

Jules

As far as i can remember you get 15 points without the test and 25 if you take it and pass,wether you need the extra 10 points only you will know, btw my knowledge is from my own application,which was pre sept 07 when some of the rules changed,as far as im aware the rules re language hasnt changed though.

Thanks Pablo thats a great help I have just read another post and it said about 15 points without the test which I didn,t know I am going to re check I think we scored 125 but that was claiming 25 points without the test so not sure if it takes us down to 115 will have to check now.

Thanks again