COST OF LIVING IN BRISBANE!

Guest london cabbie

Guest london cabbie

HI.

I need a bit of help here,im trying to build a picture of life in brisbane and the every day expenses but keep reading conflicting information.

I live and work in london so i guess brisbane on the whole is cheaper,but how much cheaper?

We hope to have enough money after the sale of our house to buy a house out there cash so luckily we will have no morgage,but what about council tax,water,electricity,gas, insurance etc.And how about petrol,cars,school fees,shopping,medical care?

Iknow the wages out there could be a bit higher but...well what i am trying to say is i dont want to come out there and work my nuts off to survive like i do here,its all about quality of life right?.

I hope someone can come up with a few answers for me

Thanks....Jamie :?

Hi Jamie

I am no expert but I have researched and also asked my brother who lives there and these are my findings...

Council tax is about half what I pay

Water - is included in council tax

No gas

Electric - £30 a month

Petrol - 39p litre

No MOT's I think

Road tax more expensive but includes third party insurance

Medicare is 1.5% of wage

Clothes, electricals etc are all about the same

You pay for school fees but I think it is about £60 a year

Cars are more expensive as they hold there value

Broadband is a little more I think

No TV licence but you can pay extra for better TV (a bit like Sky here)

I also suspect that wages are lower - but I guess that depends on what work you do (not sure if your name gives the game away?)

I hope this helps and if anyone things I am wrong - please feel free to add comments.

Guest london cabbie

HI Tahe49.

Thanks for your reply it was very helpful, seems alot cheaper to live out there,still a hell of alot of research to do though....yeah im a london cab driver so i will have to think about something else to do(from life in the bus lane to life in the fast lane lol).